Abbey Church The Chancel of the Abbey remained in use as the Parish Church until it was torn down and the Abbey Church we see today was erected in 1774.

In architectural terms, this is a dark-harled, simple, plain T-plan preaching box. Although built some 200 years after the stirring events of the 16th century, its severity can be seen as a continuing expression of contempt for the Abbey and what it stood for.

Inside, the atmosphere is less grim: there is a particularly attractive Eglinton loft supported on slender Corinthian columns and effective stained glass windows. abbey church interior
The window to the right of the pulpit is the gift of the 14th Earl of Eglinton. Christ in the centre is represented as saying "I am the Way, the Truth and the Life". On the lower part the Eglinton coat of arms is depicted in harmonious colouring, with the motto 'Gardez Bien' and the following inscription "Erected in memory of Sophia, Countess of Eglinton - born 1840, dies 1886 - by Archibald, 14th Earl of Eglinton, 1890". The window to the left of the pulpit is erected to the memory of the late Hugh Conn. stained glass window stained glass window
In 1989, the 800th Anniversary of religious activity in the town, two items of future historic value were added to the decor of the church. One, a special stained glass window, designed and made by Sax Shaw, one of the foremost stained glass window artists in the country. The other is a huge tapestry, the brainchild of Hazel, the Minister's wife. It measures 8ft by 5ft, composed of 18 panels representing the schools and churches of the town. In the centre is a Celtic "Crown of Glory" cross; it is bordered by panels of Celtic interlacing and "biting dogs" patterns. To complete it took a team of 30 men and women over one million stitches. Many of the congregation took the chance to put a stitch in the tapestry so that it became truly the work of the people.
stained glass window by Sax Shaw
The Abbey is the largest of the Parish Churches, and is the latest in a long line of church buildings on this site, stretching back nearly 1400 years. In its time, the Abbey has been the centre of Celtic, Roman Catholic and Episcopalian worship. For the past 450 years, it has been Presbyterian.
proposed extension Currently, the Abbey is planning to upgrade and extend the Church Halls to provide more accommodation and better facilities to suit the changing needs of the Church, Parish and Community.